Speaking at FOSSASIA’17 | Seasons of Debian : Summer of Code & Winter of Outreachy

I got an amazing chance to speak at FOSSASIA 2017 held at Singapore on “Seasons of Debian – Summer of Code and Winter of Outreachy“. I gave a combined talk with my co-speaker Pranav Jain, who contributed to Debian through GSoC. We talked about two major open source initiatives – Outreachy and Google Summer of Code and the work we did on a common project – Lumicall under Debian.

WhatsApp Image 2017-03-23 at 11.32.33 PM

The excitement started even before the first day! On 16th March, there was a speakers meetup at Microsoft office in Singapore. There, I got the chance to connect with other speakers and learn about their work The meetup was concluded by Microsoft Office tour! As a student it was very exciting to see first hand the office of a company that I had only dreamt of being at.

On 17th March, i.e the first day of the three days long conference, I met Hong Phuc Dang, Founder of FOSSASIA. She is very kind and just talking to her just made me cheerful!
Meeting so many great developers from different organizations was exciting.

On 18th March, was the day of our talk!  I was a bit nervous to speak in front of amazing developers but, that’s how you grow 🙂 Our talk was preceded by a lovely introduction by Mario Behling.

WhatsApp Image 2017-03-25 at 2.32.01 PM.jpeg

 

I talked about how Outreachy Programme has made a significant impact in increasing the participation of women in Open Source, with one such woman being me

I also talked about Android Programming concepts which I used in while adding new features into Lumicall. Pranav talked about Debian Organization and how to get started with GSoC by sharing his journey!

After our talk, students approached us asking questions about how to participate in Outreachy and GsOC. I felt that a lot more students were receptive to knowing about this new opportunity.

Our own talk was part of the mini DebConf track. Under this track, there were two other amazing sessions namely, “Debian – The best Linux distribution” and “Open Build Service in Debian”.

The variety of experiences I gained from FOSSASIA was very diverse. I  learned how to speak at a huge platform, learned from other interesting talks, share ideas with smart developers and saw an exciting venue and wonderful city!

I would not be able to experience this without the continuous support of Debian and Outreachy  ! 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

